Sign in with
Your question

Please Help - First Budget Build

Last response: in Systems
October 23, 2011 7:01:25 AM

Ok, so this is my first build. My current computer was built by my brother-in-law in mid 2005. I think I can put it together myself this time.
My current system is a 2.4 GHz Celeron set on an Intel D865GBF motherboard with 2.5Gb of ram. I am running an OEM license of Windows xp Home service pack 3.

I bought a HD camcorder last year and have been storing all those memories on external HDDs. I want to start processing my videos and burn them to disks to share with family and friends. I will be using Sony Vegas pro 10 for editing my videos but do not think my current setup is powerful enough to even load the software, let alone to encode the video.

I have been scouring this forum for lots of insight and wisdom pertaining to lots of different system builds. I have been impressed with all of the helpful comments and advice given on this forum. This group has a lot of building and component knowledge unlike any community I have found. I am counting on that experience to help me build my first computer designed first and foremost to start processing my videos and burning them to Blu-ray and DVD format to not only share with my family and friends, but to preserve those memories for years to come. I would also like the new build to not be too slow and outdated for at least 3 to 4 years. My current system is about to that point.

Ok, let’s get started. Here is what I have picked out so far…

Approximate Purchase Date: Now (I have already started purchasing a couple of components)

Budget Range: 600-700 AT/AR (After Tax/After Rebates)

System Usage from Most to Least Important: encoding H.264 and DVD, post processing photos, online kids games, web browsing, email.

Parts Not Required: speakers, monitors, keyboard, mouse, memory, or power supply (see parts already purchased)