Status
Not open for further replies.

alicelenore

Distinguished
Jan 23, 2012
I just got a new computer from iBuyPower along with an Asus Xonar Essence STX soundcard. I have no experience with desktops so I'm not entirely sure how to tackle the problems I'm having.

My problem is that my new computer has no sound. It says no speakers or headphones are connected even when they are. I have a CD with drivers for my Asus, but when I try to install the drivers I get an error saying that my sound card has no power. I took a look and it certainly seems to be plugged into my power supply, and I'm not even sure if this is the reason I have no sound. I'd call iBuyPower but their tech support hours perfectly overlap with my school and work schedules so I don't know what to do.

I'm very confused and could use a hand. Has anyone encountered this before? Or know how to fix it? Or have any suggestions? Thanks for your help.

tinmann

Distinguished
Apr 28, 2009
The Asus Sound card's 4 pin power connector is a tricky thing. I have the Xonar DX and you have to slightly pull the connector on the card outward before you plug into it. Don't ask me why but that's the way it is.

Sounds like the STX isn't detecting the 4-pin cable plugged into the card; went through the same thing with my Xense [though only because I forgot about the cable...]. Once the card has power, the driver install should kick off properly.

FYI, the reason teh cards need a power connector is because the PCI-E varients of ASUS/HT Omega/Auzentech's soundcards are based off a PCI C-Media chipset; the extra power is required for the PCI->PCI-E bridge chip.

tinnitus

Distinguished
Sep 26, 2011
check analog out selection:

324c9dd7_xonarliao.jpg

photokev1

Distinguished
Jun 3, 2011
Are you getting a error, or a warning message?
I've read and can confirm with my xonar essence that you always get a warning about that plug - That was driving me crazy too.