Sign in with
Your question

Nvidia GTS450 performance problems

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
August 25, 2011 7:48:20 AM

Hey everybody.

Hopefully I can get some valuable advice for my situation and will accept and appreciate any advice people can give.
I have been getting performance issues with my GTS450 pretty much since the day I got it. I know it's an outdated graphics card, even at the time I bought it. That said I will explain a little further.

My major issue is with Fallout: New Vegas, hey, I know it's a buggy game on PC to begin with. With the specs of my CPU and recommendations directly from Nvidia.com on what I should be running the game at. I really should be getting better performance. I am playing the game at Medium to Low settings with no AA or multisampling at 1280-800 rez. The recommended settings are High to maxed out. I have been talking to friends with lower spec rigs. They say they are having no problems running the game on high with Multi Sampling and AA. I also turn up my fan while gaming for a cooler performance using VTune

I can play Battlefield Bad Company 2 NOT maxed out but at a decent settings. I am in the process of saving up cash to build a new rig, but in the mean time it would be nice to have the best gaming experience I can with the hardware that I have.

CPU:
AMD x2 core 2.7ghz
4 gigs ram
Asus motherboard
Nvidia GTS 450 1 gig ram
1 TB harddrive
DX 11
Windows Vista (32bit) LOL :p 

P.S It is not my internet connection. I have a 25MB down and 2.5MB up cable connection

Thanks in advance gents

a b U Graphics card
August 25, 2011 8:25:07 AM

What's the current graphic driver you're using? Sometimes driver update will ruin the game experience, other time it will improve it. Most of the time.. it's improvements but there's usually kinks here and there. Here's the site: http://www.nvidia.com/object/win7-winvista-32bit-280.26...