Sign in with
Your question

Overclocking + Installing Windows [First build] -- HELP!

Last response: in Systems
October 24, 2011 5:11:11 PM

Hi,

I just bought the following for my build:

HDDs:
Mushkin Chronos 120GB 2.5IN SATA3 Sandforce SF-2281 SSD Solid State Disk Flash Drive
Seagate Barracuda ST31000524AS 7200.12 1TB SATA 32MB Cache 3.5IN Internal Hard Drive OEM
Windows:
Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium Edition 64BIT SP1 DVD OEM
Motherboard:
ASRock Z68 EXTREME3 GEN3 ATX LGA1155 DDR3 2PCI-E16 2PCI-E SATA3 USB3.0 SLI CrossFireX Motherboard

Had a few questions. It's my first build so I got no idea how to overclock. I'll leave that for later, but first I just want to know if you're supposed to keep both drives connected when installing Windows? I want to install Windows on the SSD, so do I keep the other hard-drive connected the whole time as well? I heard in some cases it would cause problems if you have both HDDs connected in the beginning? Please help! I don't know the process :( 

Also, anyone know how to overclock with my motherboard?

Any help appreciated, thanks!

a b K Overclocking
October 24, 2011 5:14:54 PM

Get into the BIOS for OC, just up the multiplier. Please read the forums though, as not knowing what you are doing will blow up your cpu and possibly your computer.

You dont NEED to have both drives connected for the install, but it makes it a whole lot easier.
October 24, 2011 5:19:03 PM

casualbuilder said:
Get into the BIOS for OC, just up the multiplier. Please read the forums though, as not knowing what you are doing will blow up your cpu and possibly your computer.

You dont NEED to have both drives connected for the install, but it makes it a whole lot easier.