dhoare12

Distinguished
Oct 24, 2011
Hello,
A few months back I built myself a new PC (Spec below), and have had no problems with it whatsoever. Its handled some reasonably modern games (eg COD4MW) with ease. However, today I was playing DOOM 3 cooperatively with a mate over LAN (we did this for hours yesterday with no problem) and the whole thing just turned off, with the power light blinking, and couldn't turn it back on without pulling out the PSU power lead. All three fans spin fine, and I set the CPU fan to run at maximum in the BIOS, but the problem returned. I used SpeedFan to log temperatures, and just before it turns itself off, the GPU (GTS 450) hits 49C and the CPU about 42C. I don't know much about that stuff, but that doesn't seem too high does it?
Any help would be massively appreciated! I'm new to system building , so I may have made a really basic error.
Thanks

AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 6 core CPU
ASUS GeForce GTS 450 1GB
MSI 870A-G54 Motherboard
8GB Kingston ValueRAM
Windows 7 Pro
500W PSU

Solution
Although it could be other things, odds are the cause is a bad power supply. Especially since you didn't mention what make/model you are using.

1) What is the make/model/age of psu?
2) Do you happen to have another psu you could swap in? A 300W or higher psu will be enough to support the gpu through some gaming.

If you need to buy a new one (a spare is not a bad thing for a builder to have), please go with an Antec (eg 380W Earthwatts ~$40), Corsair, Seasonic, or another specific model that has been reviewed by a qualified reviewer. Given the market and the problems a weak psu can cause, there's no reason to take a chance on anything else.

beenthere

Distinguished
Those temps if correct are not excessive. You might want to double check the CPU temp with "Core Temp" as SpeedFan and other software some times get the temps wrong.