Sign in with
Your question

Need some advice for a new build!

Last response: in Systems
October 25, 2011 7:38:53 PM

Hello everyone,

I'm currently trying to decide how to build my new pc, designed exclusively for gaming, with ultra settings in mind. I live in France, so I apologize in advance for my bad English, and for any components i refer to by their European name.

I'm looking for the best quality/price ratio, I'm a student, so relatively poor =p (pasta for 3 months in order to upgrade my computer ^^)

Thanks for all the help and advice! Here's what I have so far:

Proc: Intel Core I7 960 (i'm not sure why everyone is raving about the 2500k.. is it better? kind of hesitating on this)

Case: Antec Twelve hundred v3 (has some minor overheating problems on my old NZXT, so the fans in this case are what convinced me)

PSU: Corsair AX - 1200w

Sound card: Creative X-FI Titanium Fatal1ty Champion

Ventirad: Noctua NH-D14 (proc cooling)

Graphics card: EVGA GTX580 (and planning on getting a second one later on to SLI) Possibly a Accelero Xtreme Plus II to cool the GTX580

Memory: Corsair DDR3 Kit 2 x 4 Go Dominator GT - PC16000 - 2000 MHz - CAS 9

Hard drive for OS and games: Crucial M4 128Go SATA revision 3.0
Hard drive for storage: reusing my old velociraptor 10.000 rpm, since I have 4 1TB externals for real storage.

Getting a blu-ray player/burner as well, and reusing my two dvd players/burners from my old computer.

Is there anything missing? wrong? Am I dumping too much money in useless upgrades? Is this the best "bang for my buck"? I'll take any comments and help you can give me :p 

Thanks again!

More about : advice build

October 25, 2011 8:03:34 PM

Bump because I forgot the motherboard!!!!

Here it is: Asus Rampage III Extreme
October 25, 2011 9:46:31 PM

People are raving about the i5 2500K because it is:

1. Latest generation Intel CPU, and latest generation is usually the way to go with CPUs.