Sign in with
Your question

Disabled person needs your expertise/opinions

Last response: in Systems
October 25, 2011 11:15:31 PM

I really need some help. I had a life altering accident, and will never be able to work again. My foresight in buying "state of art 10 years ago (2 years before accident), enabled me to stay online for a long time.

Since disability income is so low..I feel that this purchase I am about to make MUST LAST at least 10 years...again. Wanted you to understand my mindset.

It is hard to go FIND a PC that is not an APPLE right now, yet I'VE GOT TO HAVE A TOOL. I am a CPA who TRIES to research investments where speed is crucial sometimes in purchase price.

NEEDS: FAST TOOL to do financial research and to buy/sell in fast moving markets
music
tons of 10 megapixel pictures on both hard drive and external hard drive (which I can't remember how to get to, pre-accident)

want to be able to record videos if needed

want to be able to Skype to see my Mom: I used to take care of her but she had to go live in another state when I had my accident. I know I need to buy a Logitech camera/microphone to attach..only thing the APPLE has on this unit (unless it is a piece of____ which I hope you pro's will help me to know)

I can see a future need to stream movies/old tv shows, etc. I have Uverse now...but have seen practically everything..and know that if I could find a streaming site that was cheap...old stuff I've not seen cause I use to work 17 hour days. Do you have to have a CABLE from the desktop INTO THE BACK of the set I want to stream to? Don't know how this technology works...but know I have to have HDMI...which this unit has

My current PC still has hard drive space: but only running 1 GB ram and Pentium 4 with 1.60 GHz...