Monitor goes to sleep mode/CPU stops working properly

Omne

Distinguished
Jan 26, 2012
I shut down my computer a couple days ago and when I restarted, it got to the desktop (Windows Vista) but suddenly the monitor went to its standby mode. Now sometimes I'll reset it only to have it happen right away. Last night I had the computer running OK until a little bit ago when we went out, and it happened again.

I've noticed that when this happens, the CPU itself is really making a roaring sound like it's working hard. If there was any audio coming through on the speakers or headphones, it'll get stuck looping until I shut the system down. I bought the PC about two and a half years ago. I'm wondering if maybe the power supply needs replacing but I'm not too experienced with PC hardware. I opened it up yesterday and dusted it out pretty well. It's a Gateway DX4300-03:

AMD Phenom X4 9750 Quad-core
ATI Radeon HD 4650 1024MB
8 GB DDR2

Hi :)

Firstly its nothing to do with your monitor... its NOT going to sleep, its the PC stopping providing a signal to it....

The roaring noise sounds like a fan overworking to me....get some temperature testing software and come back here with your temps...

All the best Brett :)

Omne

Distinguished
Jan 26, 2012
Here's some of what I was able to see with that program:

Fan1: 20 RPM
Fan2: 5136 RPM
Fan3: 0 RPM

Then another group of fans:

Fan1: 1581 RPM
Fan2: 885 RPM
Fans 3 through 5 in this group are at 0 RPM as well as the GPU Fan.

And the temperature readings:

Temp1: 44C
Temp2: 44C
Temp3: 56C (and a little flame picture)
HD0: 38C
Temp1: 44C
GPU: 65C
Core: 31C

At this point in typing the message, my CPU usage is at about 2.5% and making virtually no noise at all. I had put the system on sleep mode earlier and it was like that for about 8 hours total.

Omne

Distinguished
Jan 26, 2012