Graphics card not showing video with monitor.

Ok. Just put a new pc together. Everything seems to be working. Fans on graphics card are spinning and seem to be getting power to everything. When i hooked up monitor to gfx car via hdmi and dvi i did not get any display whatsoever. Tried the monitor on my ps3 and it worked fine. I have no onboard gfx card on motherboard but am about to try a different gfx card just to see what happens. Plugged sapphire into pci express 16x then plugged 2x 8 pin pci express power cord into gfx card and made sure i had good connection. I have 2 power cords coming from power supply that are 2x 8pin but not sure if i should try both of them. Obviusly im a newb but maybe someone can help me?

System:

Viewsonic 24in vx2453mh-led r
Cooler master storm scout
Vga sapphire hd 6950 2g r
Mb gigabyte ga-99fxa-ud3 am3+ r
Psu antec 750w hcg-750 rtl
Ripjaw gskill 4gb ram x2
Cpu amd phenom x4 970 3.5ghz am3 rt
7 answers Last reply
More about graphics card showing video monitor
  1. Update: tried a different gfx card with the same result. I dont think i have a way to test cpu or motherboard right now. I dont think there should be any compatability issues but not positive.
  2. Are you using the top PCI-Express x16 top slot?
    Some mobo's default to only the top slot if using a single card.

Your PSU has x4 6+2 pins.The 6950 only needs x2 6 pins.So just use the 6 pin part of the 6+2 pins.

If you've tried a different card than I would think it's a defective mobo.Might have to RMA it.
  3. I am using the top slot so I guess thats not it. Might go buy a new mobo and see if it works. Kind of want to get it running before monday.
  4. 1. Use TWO 6 pin power cables.

2. Sounds like the monitor is set for a different input. Use the OSD (on screen display) to select the DVI input.
  5. The monitor should Auto Configure but I guess you could give it a try.