Upgrading my GeForce 8200 to a GTS 450

Status
Not open for further replies.

tonybruce

Distinguished
Aug 28, 2011
So I am currently sporting a GeForce 8200 and want to upgrade to a GTS 450. I have been doing research and found that the 8200 is an mGPU. So if I get a GTS 450 would I be able to install it in a PCI normally or will that interfere with the GPU. I am just getting started in my computer nerdiness so I appreciate the help thanks!

Processor: AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 5800+
Graphics: GeForce 8200
PSU: ATX Switching 450W, 12V, 25A
Memory: 4 GB DDR2

That psu has me worried, a stock gts 450 at full load uses 109w while overclocked models use slightly more power. That psu seams to be a generic or a oem unit and I suggest that you should invest in a new unit in the future so there is one less thing to hold you back.

ps3hacker12

Distinguished
just saying but you could upgrade your processor to a phenom 720 (AM3) or a phenom 910 (AM3) if you wanted:
http://xfxforce.com/en-us/products/motherboards/nvidia%20geforceseries/~/ecms.ashx/XFXCPUCompatibilityList-AMD.pdf

and yes corsair, XFX, seasonic, Antec, OCZ and some others are all good brands, things to look for are good PSU reviews (if the PSU doesn't have a review normally thats a bad sign in itself!).

[EDIT]: make sure you uninstall all old drivers (the geforce 8200 drivers) before installing your GTS 450! i would reccommend a 6770 instead for around the same price it has better performance but its up to you really and what games you play (i went with a gts450 due to Nvidia PhysX).

tonybruce

Distinguished
Aug 28, 2011
Would suggest upgrading my CPU and GPU then before I worry too much about the PSU? I noticed that on the site it says the 8200 supports AM2+ sockets http://www.nvidia.com/object/product_geforce_8200_mgpu_us.html so am I still able to use the phenom 910?

ps3hacker12

Distinguished