Sign in with
Your question
Closed

External GPU Question

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
August 29, 2011 3:24:35 PM

Hey everyone,

Complete noob here, but trying to learn. I recently purchased a laptop with a crappy Intel HD card. My question is about building an external GPU with PSU and PCIe to expresscard adapter. I have read countless threads about how it can not or shouldn't be done, but I stumbled across the How To and was hoping to replicate something similar.

How to here -> http://www.techradar.com/news/computing-components/grap...

SO to make this short, my questions are.

1. If I get a GPU PSU, one that is built to power the GPU, does the video card just pull power from the PSU or does it also try to pull power from the PCIe connection?

2. I have found PCIe/expresscard adapters with a supposed 2.5GB/s transfer rate - Would this be a quick enough bandwidth for gaming?

3. Hypothetically is it possible and what are the problems or limitations of a good PCIe GPU hooked to a separate PSU, and connected to a PCIe/express card adapter attached to a laptop?

Sorry if this has been gone over tons of times, but it seems good in theory unless I am missing something totally obvious because I am completely new to all of this.

More about : external gpu question

August 29, 2011 6:30:08 PM

I'm constantly amazed at what people will do just to be able to move their computer. Have you considered adding a handle to to a desktop? Then you can carry it around like a suitcase. I've actually been doing that since the very first computer I built.
Score
August 29, 2011 7:04:19 PM

Quote:
1. it sucks power from the PSU and PCI-E, which according to the article also has it's power supplied by the PSU
2. low end GPUs should run fine, something around a 5550 ?
3. Problem and limitation? mobility. Companies like VAIO already have this kind of external GPU systems, but with flashy, glossy cases sold with their ultra thin laptops.