First time build, need advice.

jack246

Distinguished
Oct 27, 2011
Hi everyone, after a convincing my mother for the longest time, I have been given the go ahead to build my own desktop. I would love any advice I can get as I am still new to all this and wouldn't want my mum to blame me for not getting a prebuilt one in the event I screw things up. Done a little reading and research here and there and came up with this. Main motive for building this new desktop is to play Battlefield 3 (finally the retail is out, hopefully can get more accurate advice), Skyrim, Modern Warfare 3, and perhaps some other games but yet, it's still a family PC for everything else from word processing to general internet surfing.

Approximate Purchase Date: IN 2-3 DAYS TIME!

Budget Range: SGD $2300-$2400 (cheaper the better of course)

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Gaming, Watching Blu-Ray Movies, General web surfing and word processing.

Parts Not Required: Blu-ray player/burner

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: Not buying online. Still would appreciate newegg links to look at the parts.

Country of Origin: Singapore

Parts Preferences: Intel, Nvidia

Overclocking: Yes (most likely just using the auto-overclocker on mobo to juice up the CPU to ~4.5ghz?)

SLI or Crossfire: No, don't really know about this so planning to stay out. Hopefully, one card=less problems=enough for what I need

Monitor Resolution: 1920x1080 (getting a new monitor, suggestions?)

Additional Comments: Well, I think I'm pretty set on getting the NZXT Phantom case and GTX 580. The rest.. please do advice! Colour coordinated build would also be nice, and of course, quiet is always an added advantage.

So, the parts I've come up with so far are

CPU: i5-2500k (best cpu for gaming?)

MOBO: Seriously confused here
1. Asus P8Z68 V-Pro
2. Asrock Extreme 3 Gen 3
3. Asrock Extreme 4 Gen 3