Sign in with
Your question

Compatibility Check / Fan Question For Gaming Build (~$1,000)

Last response: in Systems
October 27, 2011 2:14:51 PM

Hi All,

I've been working on a ~$1,000 gaming PC build and would like a few final sets of eyes before I submit my order. The public wishlist for my build can be seen here: New Gaming Build

1) Are all of my components compatible? Will they fit in my case? I'm confident that everything looks good here, but can never have enough assurance.

2) I do not intend to overclock or crossfire. In spite of this, I have had a few folks still push a 3rd party CPU fan. Given my current build, is this fan upgrade a necessity? This is my first build, so the whole thermal paste aspect of adding a 3rd party fan scares me a bit.

3) Is any part of this build particularly unreasonable, from either a "You're spending too much for that" or "That component is too powerful for the rest of your build to keep up" perspective?

Thanks for your input, folks!
October 27, 2011 2:39:18 PM

Nope, everything seems fine. And to be honest, unless you're overclocking, no you dont need an aftermarket heatsink.

But, dont be scared about them... They are helpful and do give great performance. I strongly suggest Corsairs Hydro Series coolers for anyone picking up an aftermarket cooler. They are completely enclosed and maintenance free with no risk of leaking, yet, they still give the best cooling hands down...

I would however check out the mobo's manufacture website and double check the RAM. Make sure it's on its qualified vendor RAM list.

You should be able to find it here

http://www.asus.com/Motherboards/Intel_Socket_1155/P8Z6...

m
l
a b 4 Gaming
October 27, 2011 2:40:53 PM

It's pretty good but it's not something you need.

You don't want to OC.

Get an i5-2500. The K series is for overclocking
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

Use the promo code for i5-2500

Get this combo. i5-2500 and 6870