Mixing RAM on the GA-X58A-UD3R Motherboard

angelonc

Honorable
Nov 29, 2012
Hey guys,

I just bought a 8GB (2x4gb) RAM kit (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231416)

And I currently have another kit installed with 6GB total (3x2gb); (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231185 <-- this is the only thing I could find with a matching part number, although I think it is incorrect)

I've never tried to mix RAM before, but I want to try to get as much memory out of these as possible, what do you all recommend?

I suspect I will have to at least sacrifice one of the older 2gb cards?

Some specs:

Windows 7 64bit
Intel Core i7 940 BloomField
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R Board
6GB (3x2GB modules) G.Skill RAM, part number F3-12800CL9-2GBNQ

Thanks!

Solution

Makes sense to up your memory then. However, you really need to stick to triple channel kits. If you can, return the dual channel kit, because it's going to be detrimental to your machine.

Could you maybe explain the channel modes a bit more? I have increased the amount of memory, but how will operating in single channel mode effect memory performance?
Sure thing. Your motherboard has three...

Xttony

Distinguished
Well you can try to put the new ones in two same coloured slots. If the old cards and the new cards have different operating voltages then I don't really think it will work. It may work but you will end up with a crash sooner or later. If you still want to continue you can just clear bios settings by pressing the clear cmos key at the back of your motherboard and continue using it.

angelonc

Honorable
Nov 29, 2012
Thanks for your reply!

I believe they all operate at 1.5V, so hopefully that won't be a problem. The thing I was concerned about was running 3 channels and 2 channels on the same board

willard

Distinguished
Nov 12, 2010