Sign in with
Your question

[mobo] First time builder mobo powering question

Last response: in Motherboards
November 30, 2012 2:28:05 PM

Hi Tom's Hardware, long time lurker, finally found something that wasn't already answered (I think).

OK so I have an ASROCK Extreme4 z77 mobo. First one arrived DOA. RMA'd it, second one just arrived.

I am a bit confused on how to turn the mobo and the system on.

When my first one didn't work, I brought it to geeksquad and they confirmed that my PSU was working properly.

OK. So even though this is my first build I am pretty 100% sure that I am connecting the PSU and the 24 pin power connector properly.

I just have 2 or 3 questions:

1. Can installing the cases front panel power switch connector backwards cause it to (1) not work (2) ruin the mobo?

(According to this random website I found

- "As it turns out, only the LED's are a problem if their cables are connected the wrong way around. The LED's are diodes, so they have polarity. If you have an LED cable on the right pins, but the wrong way around, then the LED won't light up. It won't hurt anything, though. For the LED to work, line up the black wire on the cable connector with the motherboard header pin identified as ground (GND, or pull-down). Two of the cables are for LED's, the POWER LED cable and the HDD LED cable.