What Graphics card should I get

johnboy219

Distinguished
Jul 31, 2011
Hi I am new to computers and have recently just built my 1st Rig and I am now looking to install a Graphics Card for gaming. It is to be used mainly for strategy games such as Company of Heroes, C&C ect so I know i dont need anything high end. Could someone recomend a Graphics card to me or help me understand what I am looking for.

I have the following components

Intel Core i5-2500K 3.30GHz (Sandybridge) Socket LGA1155 Processor
Gigabyte H61M-S2V Intel H61 (Socket 1155) DDR3 Motherboard
OCZ Platinum 4GB (2x2GB) DDR3 PC3-10666C7 1333MHz Dual Channel Kit

Many thanx in advance for the feedback

pro-gamer

Distinguished
Aug 27, 2011
well your system is too much faster if you want to make it more faster go for nvidia geforce gtx 560 with this card you gain higher fps not only in strategy also in other games.

Why such an old card ?
Btw Company of Heroes full settings you will need a high end GPU. I have an 560 and i can't use AA and stuff at high res. with this game. Go for at least 560 TI or 6870, or even better 6950.

johnboy219

Distinguished
Jul 31, 2011
Thankyou to everyone for the input, got a better idea of what to look for now. All i need to do now is justify a £120 Graphics card to the wife.

Ananan

Distinguished
Apr 2, 2007

You can't max it out on a 560? I maxed it out with room to spare on an 8800 Ultra.

I was just trying to save the guy some money; I figured a card equal to an 8800 GT would be a good start.

Maybe a good advice but when i buy something new i wanne have something better than before, but he might be satisfied with an equel card, thats true. Good to mention the possibilty anyway.
I can play CoH at 1920x1080 at ultra settings, BUT as soon as i put AA on, even low level, it will stutter pretty bad when "scrolling" over the map. ( is there an official English word for that, i always say scrolling but not everybody seem to understand what i mean by that )