Sign in with
Your question

Software tips and overall system advice

Last response: in Systems
October 29, 2011 6:38:28 PM

Okay, I own an HP a6203w desktop with windows 7 Enterprise N on it. Nothing special, stock everything except for I now have 4 gigs of ram. As it sits I have about 280 gigs of free space, and wanted to know, since I have a fresh system, what all should I invest in?

Best antivirus?
Best photo editing/art editing software?
Miscellaneous software like Ccleaner, Gamebooster, etc?
Built in Game consoles like Wildtangent games/Emachine games?
Codec libraries?
Movie/DVD players?
Music players and editors? (audacity, etc)
Themes/Visual effects?

I am new to this and it is a new system in the sense that the hard drive is bare with no software but the OS on it. I want to start fresh and do it right but I don't know where to start. I don't want to install bad/wrong software and I'm looking for the best I can get in each category. It doesn't have to be freeware either, I plan on buying what I need.

Secondly, I KNOW, this is NOT a gaming computer, and I do NOT want a long speech about how I can build my own better for cheaper, I get that. I am looking for a Power supply and a Video card, that I can run on this computer, that is low end/budget/cheap. But I don't know where to start, I am trying to make a list for christmas. I was thinking about an ATI 5570 or a 5550, something that is easy on wattage but ANYTHING will be an upgrade over my current nvidia 6150se integrated chip.

I'm sorry for the long wall of text and I understand this subject is varied so it doesn't really fit into one single category, so I pu it in Homebuilt because it is a progressional build.
October 29, 2011 7:21:43 PM

nfarnham2001 said: