Is it safe to replace a cpu inside the case?

fearitzfizz

Distinguished
May 7, 2011
I bought a new cpu but I'm not really good at building computers. So I don't really have the skill to take the motherboard out and install the cpu. I have enough space to be able to do the job but is it safe? Thanks!

Yes, as long as you have enough room to move around. Please PM me if you have any issues. but yea you should be fine, i do it when i changed out parts. put the motherboard and work inside the case. instead of putting every single component on the board then putting the motherboard in.

fearitzfizz

Distinguished
May 7, 2011

Ok thanks. Also, should I lay the computer flat or keep it upright?

gokanis

Distinguished
Apr 26, 2011
The one time I tried it I accidently pulled the socket up out of the motherboard trying to get the heatsink off. But hey, it gave me a chance to upgrade further. I always remove everything and take my time now.

morne

Distinguished
Jan 9, 2012
Its fine to do it inside the PC, make sure its flat so you have wide view of everything and dont accidentily break something, but even with no experience in it you will be fine, also when its flat you can just let the cpu fall in (not literaly) without any hassle.

Good luck

I used a bit less then a pea sized drop for my 212+ evo, it gets to 20c min and 33c max

if you are having trouble getting the heatsink off of the cpu, dont force it, wiggle it a little bit then pull with not to much force if that doesnt work or you simple cant wiggle it power it on, run prime 95 for about 5 min and try again :)

fearitzfizz

Distinguished
May 7, 2011

Ok and do I put the thermal paste on before or after I put the cpu in the socket. Sorry about alll the questions I'm not rich and don't wana mess up

Hi :)

I am sorry but thats ABSOLUTELY AND TOTALLY WRONG !

I own computer shops and a lappy repair company....

If any of my employees did what you said they would be sacked on the spot...