I am new here and I need some advise regarding my desktop:

Current Specs:

CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E8400
Motherboard: AsusTek P5k SE
Memory: DDR2 4GB
HDD: 500GB
Video Card: NVidia GeForce 9800GT 1GB
Monitor: Dell U2311H 23"

I'd like to know if it's worth it to change my graphic card to GTX 460 2GB. Will this GTX 460 support my current system? Will the GTX 460 2GB worth it for my monitor 23"? or should I just buy GTX 460 1GB?

My current system can't play Aion game smoothly.

P.S: Sorry this is the question outside this topic but I also have the Laptop Toshiba X775 Q7272 with GTX560M, the system is pretty hot when playing the game for a few hours, I'd like to know if I should use cooling pad and what type of cooling pad will be good for my laptop. Just bought this laptop for a few weeks but finally still think playing game on desktop is better and easier.

It's my first time here asking for advise and please forgive me if I am wrong on some aspect.

Thanks alot in advance and will be waiting for the feedback !

Regards,

I'd stick with the 1GB card. If you are willing to pay the extra money for a 2gb model it would make more sense to just look at a better card entirely.
We would need to know your PSU's brand/model to tell you what cards you can use though.

heavenly2011

Distinguished
Sep 1, 2011
I am sorry that I didn't mention about my PSU, honestly I am not sure what brand I have... I don't know much about the computer but it's 650W, that's what my seller told me. I just replaced it a few months ago.

Please suggest what is the good brand for the PSU and what the capacity needed for this GTX 460.

I am living in Cambodia and actually, there is no GTX 460 here, it's so outdated in my country. Even my laptop, I shipped it from Ebay and this GTX 460, if I buy, I will have to import it from Ebay too.

Thanks for the helpful replies, appreciate it.

Regards

PSU has nothing at all to do with bottlenecking the CPU...