Sign in with
Your question

Computer freezes

Last response: in Motherboards
December 3, 2012 1:11:38 AM

My computer has been freezing. At first it started out just hanging. Meaning the mouse would freeze music would keep playing then 20 seconds later a boop would come out of the speakers and it would resume. Then it started completely freezing. When playing games the sound would be a bit choppy. My instincts tell me PSU, CPU or motherboard.

Now I must say that this sort of thing happened about a year ago and replacing the cpu fixed it. But, that cpu is in another computer now and it runs fine. My first troubleshooting was to reinstall the OS. it had Win7 on it for over a year with no problems. But since Im a student I get win8 free so why not. Well it's freezing still.

Some people suggested mobo because of the boop sound and it may just be hanging or something.

Here are the specs:

AMD Phenom II X4 970 Black Edition Deneb 3.5GHz Socket AM3 125W Quad-Core Desktop Processor HDZ970FBGMBOX 1 year
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

GIGABYTE GA-MA770-UD3 AM2+/AM2 AMD 770 ATX AMD Motherboard 3 years

OCZ SLI-Ready Edition 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model OCZ2N800SR4GK 5 years
couldn't find a link to my specific parts.

ADATA 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model AD2U800B2G5-DRH 3 years

Raidmax Hybrid 730W ATX12V/ EPS12V Power Supply RX-730SS 3 years
http://www.amazon.com/Raidmax-Hybrid-ATX12V-EPS12V-RX-7...

EVGA GTX 260 superclocked 3 years
Couldnt find a link

160gb sata HDD is 5 years old.

Oh and my case lights act wierd. They dim and turn off and anywhere between when i push on it with my leg. Assuming there is a loose cable to those since they all are linked and have the same brightness. Not sure what powers them.

Any ideas?

More about : computer freezes

December 3, 2012 2:23:59 AM