Core i5 2500k vs amd phenom ii x6 vs core i7 2600k

paradoxeternal

Distinguished
Oct 30, 2011
Hi, I'm currently looking at upgrading my PC. I do a lot of HD video rendering and some gaming. My current PC sports an amd phenom ii x6 running at the standard 3.3 ghz, an amd radeon 6870, 2 1 TB hard drives at 7200 RPM, and 8 GB of ddr2 memory.

the board i'm using is an asus m4n 78 pro, one that my dad gave me for free. i've had some problems with it and have decided that even though i've been using this PC for only 2 months i'm going to make some upgrades.

I want to make lets plays and commentaries, which requires video recording and rendering; eventually, i want to have a PC that can play a DX11 game with settings turned to high/ultra at 30-40 FPS while recording. Since i'm upgrading my board, i've been thinking about switching to the intel CPUs because eventually i want to switch to ivybridge.

My question is this: Will a core i5 2500k outperform my phenom ii x6 in terms of video rendering? how about the i7 2600k? i know they will both get better numbers in terms of FPS in games, but this isn't a purely gaming PC. will the 2 extra cores on my phenom ii really make a difference in terms of video rendering or no?

also, since the FX CPUs have turned out to be a disappointment, i plan on getting the ivybridge CPUs a few months after they come out. this is another reason why i'm thinking of switching to intel NOW.

i'm a college kid living at home, and while i wont break the bank on an i7 2600k, i'd rather not if i can get similar performance for less, as i'm trying to save money for a cheap car.

so, should i get an intel motherboard now? if so, should i get the i5 2500 or the i7 2600k? if not, should i just get an AMD board and overclock my phenom ii x6 to 3.6 ghz or so and then wait until 5 or 6 months after the ivybridge chipsets come out and completely upgrade then?