Restricting Access to shared folder

Ivan Ivanov

Distinguished
Apr 28, 2009
Hi All :)

I'm not experienced in networking and even some common principles are bury to me so I could use some help :). I have two PCs networked diractly by LAN card to LAN card connection with a crossover UTP cable (the simplest thing :) ). My "primary" PC is connected to the internet through another LAN card. All the local hard drives of the primary PC are shared so I can access them through the "secondary" PC.

And now the problem: The system maintenance utility which I use recently shows me that all my hard drives have unlimited access rights and anybody can access them by simply typing C$, D$ etc ...

The utility suggests that I should remove the "Everyone" group from the users who can access the shared objects. But "Everyone" is the only group there is...
So I removed it and set my user instead, but after I failed to access the shared HDs through the secondary PC I've realized that I gave rights only to the local user of my primary PC :D!!! The sharing is completely pointless that way. The locations I can choose are limited to the users of the local (primary) PC, I can't choose the remote (secondary) PC user to have the rigts?!

So the situation now is: the HDs will be shared to either Everyone or No One!!! :D - Neihter of those suits me! ;)

Please tell me what to do? :)

And BTW what's the risk? Isn't the firewall supposed to stop any outside access attempts?

Thanks in advance! :)

retellect

Distinguished
Nov 21, 2009
Hi Ivan, go to the secondary pc, right-click My Computer then click properties. Look for the computer name and note it down, lets assume the computer name is "mysecondpc" from now on.