Sign in with
Your question

What factor most affects VPN speed?

Last response: in Networking
December 3, 2010 5:21:53 PM

Hi all,

I have a program on the office server that I'd like to use over VPN. The client software is on my laptop and the actual program and database is on the server. The problem is that the program is extremely slow over VPN, to the point of being unusable.

I have tried contacting the program developer for assistance, but their answer is "we do not support use of our program over VPN". Now I don't know whether that means it cannot be used over VPN or they just don't support use over VPN, but that's all the answer I'm getting.

My question is, is it possible to speed up the VPN connection so I can run the program as fast as if I was in the office? Is there a bottleneck I can try to open up? I'm brand new to VPN connections, so I have no idea what details you all need in order to help me.

Thanks all!
Mike
December 4, 2010 3:18:51 AM

Really VPN throughput will be limited by the following items:

1) Network speed in general. If you're trying to run it over a really slow link then it will be really slow :-)

2) Processor power / encryption algorithms in use. Some older network equipment and consumer level gear simply cannot perform encryption at a very high rate of speed. What are you using as end points, what type of VPN (IPSec, PPTP, L2TP?)

3) You may have something configured incorrectly with the VPN. Give us some details on what VPN setup you're running... are any other applications running correctly over the VPN?

Also what protocols does this program use? I'm assuming most likely tcp or udp....

m
l
December 6, 2010 1:15:19 AM

Well... kinda depends on how much bandwidth he's trying to push... and I meant CPU as in he could be maxing out his router / firewall appliance, which sometimes aren't exactly beefy.
m
l
Related resources
December 6, 2010 5:10:46 PM

Thank you dadiggle and brian_tii!