Sign in with
Your question

What Did I Get Myself Into? (First Build Help)

Last response: in Systems
November 3, 2011 12:47:20 AM

I highly doubt it, but some people might remember me from the thread Motherboard/CPU Purchase Questions. Well I went ahead and did some purchasing. I bought:

Case: APEVIA X-Dreamer ATXB3KLW-BK/420W Black
Motherboard/CPU Combo: ASUS E35M1-M PRO Fusion AMD E-350 APU
Memory: G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB (2 x 4GB)

Now I have admitted this is my first build and I wouldn't think I would be over my head. Actually, if I would have just a new CD/DVD Drive and Hard Drive I would be A-OK right now. But I'm super poor; so I didn't. I was hoping to take the CD/DVD Drive and Hard Drive from the Dell Dimension 2400 that I mentioned was given to me in my first thread but I now realize that they are EIDE and not SATA. It seems to me that I have no way to connect anything EIDE to this motherboard, it all has to be SATA.

Am I correct? Am I screwed until I fork out some more cash? I do have a spare 2.5" SATA drive that came out of an old laptop. Could I just hook that up at the moment and install my OS from a USB Drive? I would at least like to get it up and running.

Help?

More about : build

a b V Motherboard
November 3, 2011 12:56:38 AM

You can do the laptop drive way yes,
Moto
November 3, 2011 1:08:05 AM

yup you can put a lappy drive in your desktop, I am currently running with a 2.5 laptop drive , Didnt really need the extra 500gb in my laptop.
Related resources
November 3, 2011 1:09:04 AM

you can get a cd rom drive for pretty cheap, typically less than $20
November 3, 2011 1:11:57 AM

Thanks for the quick response, guys. That's what I will do for the time being. I think I can afford $20 right now.
November 3, 2011 1:13:38 AM

If you have a university surplus store they might have a cheap used sata dvd drive.

(maybe being key, depends upon how your local university upgrades)
a c 99 V Motherboard
November 3, 2011 1:22:05 AM