First Time Build - Critique

a_glazed_donut

Distinguished
Nov 1, 2011
Am planning on building a gaming PC, primarily for Bf3 and also to replace my current one, and had a few questions.

1. Need help with PSU. This is my first time building so I have no clue what to get.
2. Can anyone make any recommendations as to the below setup, either performance/price wise?
3. Does everything look compatible and any concerns as to whether it will all fit into a mid tower case.

Here's what I'm planning on:
CPU: Intel Core i5-2500K (I plan on overclocking (lots of reviews saying 4.5ghz should be no prob with this cpu))
CPU Cooler: Corsair H100
GPU: N580GTX Lightning
Motherboard: ASUS P8Z68-V PRO
PSU: ?
RAM: 8GB (2x4gb DDR3 1600)
Storage: either 64Gb OR 128GB Crucial m4 2.5-inch SATA 6GB/s (for OS and maybe a few games) and Maxtor 250GB 6B250S0 HD (for storage)
Optical Drive: Sony DVD RW DW-Q28A ATA Device
Resolution: 1920x1080
Case: Fractal R3 (comes with two 120mm fans)

Again, this is my first build so I'm learning as I go. Any recomendations would be helpful.

Emelth

Distinguished
Go with the Hyper 212 + CPU cooler, 250 GB HDD may not be enough for most people but hey if you can work it more power to you most people would go with a 500GB HDD. PSU go with a 650W Bronze certified should do good unless you plan on going SLI go for a 750W

gmcizzle

Distinguished
Mar 20, 2009
A 750w would be perfect for your system, you don't want to get less if you want to OC both CPU and GPU. If you want plan on getting another 580 to SLI in the future you will need a 950w or more though.

I would stick to air if it's your first build, you can get 4.5ghz no problem on air.

Make sure the RAM you get is rated at 1.5v

The Fractal R3 is great if you want a silent case more than anything else, but there are cases with much better cooling (and better looking) out there.

Just my 2c

liquidchild

Distinguished
Apr 1, 2010