New Gaming AMD Build ($850 Budget)

spartan-031

Distinguished
Nov 2, 2011
Hi, this is my first build, (I really need this, as I'm currently chugging away at a Pentium 4 :p) and I would like some feedback on this proposed budget/gaming system: (Max=$850)

CPU: AMD FX-6100 ($180)
GPU: XFX HD-6870 2Gb ($210)
RAM: 8Gb (2x4Gb) Kingston HyperX Blu ($40)
HDD: Thinking of a 7200RPM, 1Tb Hdd, but will wait until the ridiculous prices drop
M/B: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX ($190)
Case: CM Storm Scout Mid-Tower Case ($85)
PSU: Rosewill Green 630W Continous(?) ($60)
CPU Cooler: CM Hyper 212+ ($25)

---Total: $790

Questions:
1: Takes on the new FX chips?
2: Should I spend more on PSU rather than GPU (I'll be playing BF3 and MW3, Dual Monitored)
3: And can anyone explain what a continuous PSU and what a modular PSU is?

(Again, I have no prior experience with building computers, so any help is appreciated!)

Solution
Check out my $850 build here it'll give you solid performance and allow you to SLI/CF in the future.
http://www.squidoo.com/electronicandmore

1. The new FX chips are let down, not really worth the price.
2. No, GPU price > PSU price
3. Continuous is basically all power supplies that are decent. They'll just maintain the certain rating, the modular is cables are able to be detached or attached as opposed to all being on the PSU.
Check out my $850 build here it'll give you solid performance and allow you to SLI/CF in the future.
http://www.squidoo.com/electronicandmore

1. The new FX chips are let down, not really worth the price.
2. No, GPU price > PSU price
3. Continuous is basically all power supplies that are decent. They'll just maintain the certain rating, the modular is cables are able to be detached or attached as opposed to all being on the PSU.

Solution
At $850 there is better value from an intel i5 2400 build .

The AMD FX processors definitely have strengths , but they have severe weaknesses too .