Sign in with
Your question

Is this a good psu? NEED ANSWER BY TOMMOROW!!!

Last response: in Components
February 3, 2012 11:58:02 AM

I have a cooler master extreme power 700w psu and i have problems with it (VERY VERY LOUD FAN!!) and i might have a chance tomorrow to buy a gigabyte odin 720w psu
what i was wondering about is that if i upgrade my cpu+mobo to ivy bridge (best i7 ivy bridge before extreme series) will my psu be powerful enough to cope?

any replies will be GREATLY appreciated
February 3, 2012 12:06:53 PM

Quad Rail PSU, not many reviews out there which are usefull, from what I can tell it isnt 80+ rated at all but there doesnt seem to be many complaints out there.

Dependant on your GFX the 720W should be perfectly fine for pretty much anything.
I would reccomend you look for a different one, ideally which is 80+ rated. Corsair tend to have good reviews and quality power supplies.

I recently got the XFX xxx 750W, single rail PSU with 80+ (88%) silver rating. From what ive seen its a very nice PSU with also good reviews, either corsair or the XFX xxx series are my recomendations :-)
a b ) Power supply
February 3, 2012 12:10:04 PM

Where do you live? Most likely if you told us your budget and what graphics card you plan to use with this Ivy Bridge build we could suggest something much better for the price.

Besides, what do you need 720w for?? I'm sure a 500w would be more than enough.
Related resources
February 3, 2012 12:11:18 PM

not sure that is good always use famous brands like antec,xfx,corsair etc.
a c 121 ) Power supply
February 3, 2012 12:13:10 PM

A quality modern PSU has full range active PFC (no little voltage switch) and some level of 80+ certification for efficiency. Seasonic, Antec, Corsair, XFX, and Enermax/LEPA are among the better brands. Crappermaster is not.
February 3, 2012 12:28:17 PM

Ok sounds good im planning on keeping my 6970 for my new ivy bridge build.
a b ) Power supply
February 3, 2012 12:34:18 PM