What is wrong with my PC?

vinzbaka

Distinguished
Oct 25, 2011
I had my computer for a year already so I finally tried to attempt a OC on my CPU but since i was a novice on it, i have failed and i think i messed up the mobo but im not sure if its the mobo anymore because i rma the mobo and got it back just today but the computer wont start up still. It will start up for 3 seconds then turn off. Is it the mobo still and should i ask for a replacement, get a new mobo, or something else is wrong with my PC? It can't be the cpu right because it will still start up even without cpu? I also see the CPU Phase LED all light up so it shouldnt be the CPU right? I tried adjusting the ram or putting 1 slot of ram but that isnt the problem. I tried CMOS resetting with battery and the jumpers but still doesn't work.

System specs:
GTX 560ti
Corsair TX 850
Intel i7-870
MSI p55-gd65
4x2 1333 ram
h60 cpu cooler
antec 300
WD 500g 7200rpm 32 cache
liteon cd player

jdwii

Splendid

How far did you try to overclock your processor and what voltage did you use. I would hate to say this but the CPU might be broke.

It is highly likely that it is the power supply that has failed particularly if you have fitted a cheap one into your case. The only reliable way for a home user to check this is to replace it with a known good one. The fault is highly unlikely to be the CPU as they do not normally fail in this way.