Currently Have Integrated, considering HD6850/70 and 560TI

ontheinterwebs

Distinguished
Sep 6, 2011
Hello all, I'm looking to upgrade (this week) from my current intergrated (HD4200) graphics and was wondering which route I should go. I've been researching a bit but I must admit I'm a total novice when it comes to overclocking and the more advance things that can be done to gpus. My budget range is about 160$ to 230$. I was looking at the 6850 and 70, more recently the 560ti because these cards seemingly perform very well for the price, but if you have any other suggestions feel free to let know! I'd really appreciate any advice or help anyone can give.

From here on I'll just use the format the forum's FAQ provides to stop me from babbling too much.

USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT: I'm buying this card mainly for gaming, I'd like the ability to play recent games (crysis 2, the witcher, deus ex)--and upcoming ones (such as Rage and BF3)-- at high, or very high, on a 1080p resolution. I also do Video editing for short/independent films, mostly with sony vegas but might get into premiere in the future, if the card could help out with that I'd consider it a good bonus. Home theater and such isn't really much of a concern.

CURRENT GPU AND POWER SUPPLY: As stated before I'm currently using intergrated HD4200 graphics, with a 900W rocketfish power supply.

OTHER RELEVANT SYSTEM SPECS: I'm rockin' a AMD Phenom II X6 1055T Processor, 6 Core at stock 2.8 GHZ. The motherboard is an Asus M4a785-m, and I currently have 4GBs of Ram Installed.

PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS: I really like Amazon and Newegg, but I'm open to any non-shady website really.

PARTS PREFERENCES: As said before I'm a total novice when it comes to recent cards, I have no real preference, I just want the best price for performance card that can meet my goals.

OVERCLOCKING: Maybe, but in the immediate future I don't think I'm ready for that.

SLI OR CROSSFIRE: No

MONITOR RESOLUTION: 1920x1080