metallbizkit

Distinguished
Jul 10, 2008
Ok, so I just built a new PC from scratch (my first time woohoo). I have a Q9550 with Zalman 9700LED and Arctic Silver 5 in between. Being a total noob, I somehow was using the directions for application of the AS5 for a dual core and not the quad core instructions. Basically the difference was that I was supposed to apply a horizontal line for the quad, but I applied a vertical line as you would do for a dual. As this was my first time mounting a HSF, I happened to slide the HSF around a bit on top of the CPU (so maybe the AS5 got nicely spread out?).

My temps are 30-35C on idle and with Prime95 it is pretty much locked at 45-50C (stress test with small TFTs testing a lot of RAM -- as it says). I'm not sure of the exact ambient/room temp, but it is pretty close to around 72F. So the temps on the CPU seem fine, but I plan to overclock the CPU from 2.83ghz to 3.4ghz and I want to make sure I don't need to reapply the AS5 first. The AS5 directions state in caps to make sure you apply the paste in the proper direction (DOH!).

Being that I'm new to this, I figured I would ask the experts. So basically: reapply in the proper direction or stay with what seems to be running fine.

You can reapply the AS5 if you feel the need. Be sure to clean off the old paste thoroughly. Isoprophyl alcohol and a soft cloth work well. If you notice when you take off the HS, the AS5 you applied will have 'melted' and spread itself from the specific areas where you deployed it! So, no matter where you place the paste on the CPU protective cover, the paste will 'spread itself'. Be sure not to put to much paste when you reapply the AS5. A couple of rice sized drops should be enough. HTH.

Grimmy

Splendid
Feb 20, 2006