Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Where are best instructions/tutorial for assembling a new build?

Last response: in Systems
November 4, 2011 1:58:58 PM

Hi
I have recently purchased all the parts for a new computer. Where is a set of great step-by-step instructions for assembling it? This could either be in video or article form. I have tried Googling some but did not find very comprehensive ones.
This is my first build so I am fairly clueless.
Thanks
November 4, 2011 2:36:24 PM

Cool yeah definitely you want to check youtube to get an idea

Go onto youtubue and see if anyone has done a built up with your motherboard. Best bet is the instruction manual because all motherboards have a different design to where they will have different areas to plug it

In general just watch a random video and follow the book instructions

first build maybe a bit annoying but after all it will be easy.
Related resources
November 4, 2011 3:43:04 PM

Thanks a lot
November 4, 2011 3:48:25 PM

The Newegg builder video series is a must-watch:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lPIXAtNGGCw

There are 3 parts (links are in the description). I guess you could start at part 2 since you've already got your components. I'd watch it a couple times before starting.

Best solution

November 4, 2011 7:03:54 PM

Text wise...

The first thing I would do would be to open the case and install the separators that sit between the motherboard and the case.

While you are doing all of this, especially if you are sitting on the floor (not recommended, but fine) instead of doing all this on a wooden table (preferred) make sure to touch the metal part of the case early and often. If you are holding a static charge, this will cause you to shock the case and not the vulnerable computer parts.