4 gigs 800Mhz ram
7200.11 500gb HDD
hd 4850 gpu/ 8800gt gpu
coolermaster 600 w sli ready psu
iball workhorse cabinet

Need comments, guys......i'm new to this :whistle:

need:

cooling solutions
will it be able to play crysis at any reasonable level of fun?
better gpu options at same pricepoint
will the psu be enough to support crossfire/SLI later?

read that the e8500 c2d has been o/c ed on this board to an insane 6 gigs+!! :pt1cable:

looking fwd to an early reply

darksied

Distinguished
Aug 18, 2008
You can't sli a Radeon Video Card and a Nvidia Video Card. SLI refers to two Nvidia Cards. You could also crossfire Radeon Cards.

That should easily play Crysis.

I can play Crysis on High (and get about 50fps) with:

2GB of DDR2 Ram 800MHz
Q6600 Stock Speeds
8800GTS
500W PSU
GA-EP45-DS3L

Nvidia will probably be coming out with a new generation of video cards soon. The 8 series is aging.

BIZWIZ

Distinguished
Aug 29, 2008
Tks. I heard the q6600 is also being taken off for the new 6 cores and larrabees planned. you have a single non-sli-ed gpu. Will 600w be enough for a crossfire/ sli install?

ps...i meant that i can go either the crossfire or the hybrid sli/sli way, not use both together!! ;)

pps which mobo?!

First off, I don't think that he was intending on running an ATI card with a nVidia card, he was saying that these were his options. One or the other not both. Which states his price/performance preference.

Secondly nVidia has released their next generation of cards known as the GTX2X0 (GTX280, GTX 260), but I'm betting those are a little more than he wants to spend.

At the OP, I would say that your choice of the HD4850 is a good one. In my opinion, you can't get a better performer in that price range. Maybe the 9800GTX, but I personally would stick with the 4850.