Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Hardware options for a newbie

Last response: in Systems
November 7, 2011 10:01:09 PM

Hello, I am new to this forum and to the computer building world, and i would like to assure you that I am not trying to take the 'easy way' out of building a gaming computer. I have done hours of research and understand the essentials, but that can only get you so far being as i have very little PC building experience.

I am looking into building a fish aquarium housed gaming PC, submerged in mineral oil with a circulation and cooling system, pumping the oil through a radiator and back into the tank. (If you see any major flaws in this please let me know.) I'm shooting for max performance, money isn't really an issue. below is a list of components i have read generally good about, (as far as i can tell they are compatible) so please let me know if you think otherwise, if you have experience with these components, if you can recommend better, if you have dealt with a mineral oil cooled PC before, or any other help you can offer me!

Thank you in advance.

CPU= Core i7-2700K (would a AMD Phenom II X6 1100T Black Edition or similar be better in anyway? i would need to change motherboards, AMD is not compatible with the below)

Motherboard= ASUS P8Z68 DELUXE/GEN3

Storage= Western Digital Caviar Black WD2002FAEX 2TB 7200 RPM SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive
Corsair Force Series 3 CSSD-F120GB3A-BK 2.5" 120GB SATA III Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

Memory= G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB (4 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 2133 (PC3 17000) Desktop Memory (what is Cas Latency? this one has 11)

Power Supply= Rosewill LIGHTNING-1300 1300W, 80 PLUS GOLD Certified, Pipe-rock Modular Design, ATX12V v2.3/EPS12V v2.92,SLI Ready,CrossFire Ready,Active- PFC ,Fan LED color switch Power Supply (not sure if this will run it all, i would like to run LEDs throughout it) can i use a second, smaller power supply to take up the slack if necessary?