FX-8150

Tags:
  • CPUs
  • AMD
  • Build
  • Product
Last response: in CPUs
February 8, 2012 11:30:37 AM

So I am getting ready to build my new PC. Last 3 builds have been AMD. Basicaly because at one time they were the better processer for gaming and a better cost. Also spent 3 years working for a PC repair company. Saw more DOA Intel chips than AMD. So once again I go AMD and there new 8 core. I was shocked at the reviews here and on other sites at the poor performance. 4 core i5 and i7 betting it out. So my question is do I wait for Windows 8 and see if that unlocks the full potential of the 8150 or is it a lost cause and just build a i7 system? I would like a Toms Hardware expert who tested the chip to weigh in. This build has got to last 4-5 years.

More about : 8150

February 8, 2012 11:56:53 AM

I'm no expert but I have had one of the chips.

If you're like using say, multiple instances of a intensive program the 8150 is better.

If you are running one program that eats up power like crazy, the i7 wins.

If you are a gamer wanting max FPS the i5 often beats the i7 (Except for the higher end ones, 300$+)

The 8150 is not bad, it's just some people don't use it for it's main purpose.
Oh, and before you jump on the intel boat, try checking out the Phenom 2 980 BE or the Phenom 2 1100t BE. Both can compare to an i5 2500k and sometimes the 1100t outdoes it.
m
l
a c 203 à CPUs
a b À AMD
February 8, 2012 1:22:49 PM

tdoughtony said:
Also spent 3 years working for a PC repair company. Saw more DOA Intel chips than AMD.
What was the ratio of DOA Intel to AMD chips?
m
l
Related resources
a b à CPUs
February 8, 2012 1:35:33 PM

cyansnow said:

If you're like using say, multiple instances of a intensive program the 8150 is better.

If you are a gamer wanting max FPS the i5 often beats the i7 (Except for the higher end ones, 300$+)