How to test fans without Mobo

OK 3 things arrived today, my NZXT phantom enthusiast case full tower, my xigmatek xaf-f1453 140mm orange case fan, and my NZXT sleeved LED kit orange.
this is my first build, and i'm waiting to buy a ivy bridge processor in 2 months, and i think ill be buying my motherboard then as well. i have a crap PSU that i bought when i saw the paperclip trick to test components without the motherboard. i've already put the paperclip onto my PSU, and i was hoping to test my case fan and the LED kit.

For my fan, have put it in plane atm without screws, but the problem is my fan has a 4 pin entrance cable to power, and nor my case's fan controller nor my PSU can connect to that. the fan came with a weird connector which has 3 pins sticking out of it, and it connects perfectly with 3 of the 4 pins on the main cable on the fan, and the other side of this connector is a peripheral connector that can stick into a peripheral, and another peripheral can connect into it. the case's fan controller has a 3 pin connector for that fan. lol basically what should i do? for the future i guess ill need a 4pin to 3pin transformer(not sure what word to use) and put it in the case controller, but just to test it can i use the connector with the 3 pins sticking into the 4 pin, and then connecting the peripheral into my PSU?

And the LED kit has a peripheral connector double sided like the add on from the fan. can i just attach all the peripherals turn on the PSU and see if it works, or is something gonna blow?

idiotic instructions needed lol
11 answers Last reply
More about test fans mobo
  1. Hey, I had to read this a few times to fully understand so if i get this wrong i apologize.

The 4 pin fan connector will work if connected to a 3 pin fan header, weather your fan controller would be able to manipulate the speed im unsure. You should just be able to send power to the fan controller to test the fan.