Mid vs high end build, is it overkill for my use?

bsm428

Distinguished
Nov 7, 2011
I was looking to build my first computer, so im extremely new to this! (be nice!). Ive been researching and researching until my brain hurts and now im just a little unsure of a few things. I have already bought the HAF 932 full tower case from Cooler Master and am going to start buying parts as soon as im done painting the case and doing some light mods. I am going to install a full loop custom water cooling system (radiator, pump, reservoir, cpu and gpu waterblocks). Im into PC gaming and also will be using the system for AutoCad Civil. My concern is that my high end build will not show significant performance gains over the mid range, at least not enough to shell out the extra cash.

Im fairly new to the hardware scene and would just like some feedback and opinions.
I would like to play games on ultra settings. If there is a moment of lag here or there im not the type to freak out, but i do want my system to run smooth. I will post the two builds I was thinking of. If a combination of the two will work well please let me know which pieces i should shell out the extra $$$ for and which ones are maybe not so important. I already have the other components not listed (Memory, PSU, SSD, Optical Drive) picked out. I just need help deciding if i need to go the extra mile with the cpu, gpu, and motherboard.

The two motherboards are about 200 dollars difference in price and I am unable to see much difference in them. I know the cheaper one has video ports, which is unnecessary since the graphics card will have its own ports right? and the pricier one has dual LAN (not sure of the benefit here). Other than that, are they similar?

will i notice the difference from the i5-2500 and the i7-2600?

and how much of a difference will i notice in the video cards here? I want to run a 27" 1920 x 1080 hd monitor.