Sign in with
Your question
Closed

6950 dirt 3 edition flashing to 6970

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
September 10, 2011 7:02:23 PM

Hello everyone, I got this new 6950 dirt 3 edition 2 weeks ago, I am looking forward to flash it with 6970 bios. Now referring to several reviews many have complained that this card is not likely to get unlocked while some reviews state that it is unlockable. I'm quite nervous as I have never done this before, so I just wanna know what are the chances of it getting unlocked and also, is there a risk of the card getting damaged, I dont want to to kill this brand new card, though it does have a dual bios switch (I cant find it btw, they say its well hidden). Please help me out here, thanks in advance. :) 
September 10, 2011 7:23:22 PM

I already know about the 6970 mod on techpowerup, my question is entirely different, all I am asking is:
1. Is dirt 3 edition unlockable, what are the chances?
2. Is it risky to do so, is there a chance the card might get damaged permanently?
Score
Related resources
September 10, 2011 7:52:33 PM

1) I assume you mean the Sapphire 2GB version, in which case it may be unlockable but there is no guarantee.

2) Doing anything like this is risky so nobody is gonna tell you what you want to hear, however with the dual bios the risks are pretty low that you will end up with an expensive brick, so long as you don't do anything really stupid.
Score
September 10, 2011 8:01:29 PM

Alright, thanks for your input. Could you just throw more light on the "really stupid" part. I mean as I said already I'm a total newb when it comes to such stuff so I just wanna be careful.
Score
September 10, 2011 8:39:18 PM

The tpu link should show you what you need to do but the important parts are -

Make sure the BIOS switch on the card is set to the 1 position (pictured further down if you don't know where it is).
Run ATI Winflash, click Save to save your BIOS, so you have a backup in case something goes wrong.