Sign in with
Your question

Asus P8Z77-V LX - Won't Boot & Red L.E.D

Last response: in Motherboards
December 12, 2012 4:54:37 PM

Hey,

So I am no computer expert, but I have been having some problems since installing an extra case fan. The extra fan is the same make and model (coolermaster) as the one that came from manufacturer. Since I installed it the computer won't boot. The fans, lights, hard drive, everything powers up for about a second and then stops. Sometimes, when I keep trying, it will boot just fine and work. I have attached a video so you can see what is going on.

I removed the CPU fan when I installed the new fan, and have installed it back into place, I know enough to be albe to do that correctly. Could it be this?

Aparently it could be some wires someone touching the case or the mobo but I don't see any signs of this.

Then, when recording the video I got the RED DRAM L.E.D come on and then starting flashing when it finally booted. What is going on?!! :fou: 

Also I am using 8gb carry ram. Its standard speed (not 1600)
And an Intel Core i5 3570k overclocked @ 4.4Ghz

Here is the link: http://youtu.be/DlLIFZNemgQ (10 mins left uploading time)

Thanks for your help

More about : asus p8z77 boot red

a c 121 V Motherboard
December 12, 2012 5:01:43 PM

When you removed and re-installed the CPU fan did you remove and then clean the thermal grease between the CPU and Heatsink, and then re-apply new compound?

If so, how much did you put on?

Your problem sounds exactly like it could be because of that.
December 12, 2012 6:12:22 PM

Thanks

I will put new thermal compound on now and tell you how it goes.
Related resources
a c 121 V Motherboard
December 12, 2012 6:21:21 PM

Make sure you clean both the heatsink and the CPU with rubbing alcohol before applying new compound.

Also, make sure you put a *very* thin layer on. It should almost be transparent.
a b V Motherboard
December 12, 2012 6:30:06 PM