Processor confusion

Buying a processor for my pc and having trouble understanding as im a bit of a newbie to pc building.
Could somebody explain exactly what determines the power/speed of a processor

i was confused by the fact some quad cores have 3.4ghz and there are sixcores taht have 3.3 or 3.2 ghz.

basically, what relelvance does the quantity of "cores" have in comparison to ghz?

Thanks in advance guys
6 answers Last reply
More about processor confusion
  1. benjrozz said:
    Buying a processor for my pc and having trouble understanding as im a bit of a newbie to pc building.

i was confused by the fact some quad cores have 3.4ghz and there are sixcores taht have 3.3 or 3.2 ghz.

basically, what relelvance does the quantity of "cores" have in comparison to ghz?

Thanks in advance guys

Core's vs speed depends on what you want to do with your computer. For gaming a computer uses about 2-3 cores. So if were to pick up a 6 or 8 core processor you would be wasting your money because more than likely your game will never make use of all 6 or 8 cores. So to sum it up if you buying for pure gaming you want less cores and faster GHz speed. If you're doing something like 3d modeling more cores and slightly slower speeds is ok.
    When you are buying a new processor you want to make sure of a few things

1) correct socket
    2) correct TDP

Its always a good idea to check your motherboard compatablity list before you actually buy the CPU.
  2. rds1220 said:
    Core's vs speed depends on what you want to do with your computer. For gaming a computer uses about 2-3 cores. So if were to pick up a 6 or 8 core processor you would be wasting your money because more than likely your game will never make use of all 6 or 8 cores. So to sum it up if you buying for pure gaming you want less cores and faster GHz speed. If you're doing something like 3d modeling more cores and slightly slower speeds is ok.