Sign in with
Your question
Solved

(HELP) intel i7 870 to hot!!

Last response: in CPUs
February 8, 2012 11:45:44 PM

Hi guys this is my first post, and I really don't know why my processor is running so hot, but nothing is really happening, everything runs smooth and I just realize yesterday; I was playing Crysis 2 (Regular "Hadrcore" game settings) and i felt some heat in my right leg (next to my computer case), this is my first build (i7 870 @ stock , 6 Gb @ 1600, 1 tb, HIS Radeon HD 6850 running dual monitors (1080p 37 in and 1024 19 in)) then I opened my case I found a little bit of dust, I already cleaned up everything and my case is fully open, the processor is air cooled with the shitty stock heat-sink; but since I havent OC'd at all it should run fine right? I ran a little test again with Crysis 2 @ Hardcore and this is what SpeedFan, Real Temp and Core Temp are giving me:

You can see in the graphic of Speed Fan that the CPU temp is at top 76-77 C but the cores temp is extremely high (92-99 C) and not even under 100% load (differ from 20-75/80), also the GPU never goes up 75 C and again nothing get slower or anything, idle the core and the CPU temps are at the 50-55 but then they differ when the load start kicking in
Is something that I can do besides changing the Heat-sink?, WTF is wrong here?

PD. sorry for my bad English, second language.

More about : intel 870 hot

a b à CPUs
February 8, 2012 11:53:01 PM

just to check, is this a labtop? coz they all run hot

if not, remove the heat sync, clean it off (along with the top of the cpu) with a soft cloth, goto a local pc shop and buy some thermal paste, apply about a pea sized dot onto the cpu, re apply and tighten the cpu heat sync
February 9, 2012 12:19:33 AM

Nope, is a mid-tower PC and the heatsink is well put
Related resources
a b à CPUs
February 9, 2012 12:22:03 AM

how is the ventilation in the area? if its in a closed off area it can overheat such as
a c 117 à CPUs
February 9, 2012 12:38:24 AM