[LF] Low cost I7 2600k Build

Hi everyone,

I have limited knowledge with building computers and would like to know whats the most affordable I7 2600k Build? I intend to use many heavily threaded software and do not weigh too much priority for gaming. (Although I would like to be able to someday) I do not care if parts have been used and would like to be able to connect it to two monitors.

What parts do I need to purchase to build my computer from scratch? (Can you guys recommend me some parts)

The spec's I'm looking for is:
-I7 2600k
-16gb+ DDR3 ram
-Mobo that is overclock friendly
-Decent Used Video Card, (What is this SLI?)
-SSD Hard drive preferred.
-Would I be able to use my old sound blaster audigy 2 card as well as my old dvd drive? (From years back)
6 answers Last reply
More about cost 2600k build
  1. Yes to use your old Sound card and DVD Drive.

SLI is using 2 video cards linked together. normally only used for high end gaming.

what are the programs your going to be using.
  2. Hi there and welcome. Just to help us out, could you have a look at http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/261222-31-build-advice and fill out the details?

SLI is nVidia's implementation of multiple GPU rendering. AMD has Crossfire as its method of multi-GPU rendering.
    Most modern graphics cards support up to 2 monitors through a D-Sub and/or DVI output(s).

Quote:
    Would I be able to use my old sound blaster audigy 2 card as well as my old dvd drive?

Could you give some more details on these items? Like what connector they use (PCI/PCI-E 1x and PATA/SATA).

I assume you have a power supply, case, OS?
  3. mattyg_nz said:
    Hi there and welcome. Just to help us out, could you have a look at http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/261222-31-build-advice and fill out the details?

SLI is nVidia's implementation of multiple GPU rendering. AMD has Crossfire as its method of multi-GPU rendering.