Sign in with
Your question

Is this a good Motherboard

Last response: in Motherboards
December 13, 2012 5:23:19 AM

I'm trying to get advice and input on my final build.

CPU: AMD FX-6300 3.5GHz 6-Core Processor ($129.99 @ Amazon)
Motherboard: ASRock 970 Extreme3 ATX AM3+ Motherboard ($74.99 @ Newegg)
Memory: G.Skill Ares Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory ($37.99 @ Newegg)
Case: Cougar Solution (Black) ATX Mid Tower Case ($39.99 @ NCIX US)

I already have a Corsair Builder Series 500W PSU, and I'm re using the HDD and optical drive from old PC.

I will be gaming, audio and video editing, schoolwork, the usual on this PC.

My main question for the people of this section of the forum is, is there a better MoBo for that price? If so, what makes it better? I'm new to building and buying and not sure on brands and technology to much.

My main concerns are cooling, ability to expand and upgrade, overclocking, and up-to-date peripherals.

More about : good motherboard

December 13, 2012 5:29:27 AM

You should be fine in terms of your needs. Cooling will rely more on your case and airflow, but for overclocking and installing some new components you should be fine.
Just be sure to update the motherboard BIOS if it isn't already.
Good luck.
m
l
December 13, 2012 6:02:48 AM

Oh I wasn't sure if Motherboards had heat sinks or what not. Thanks. Is ASRock a reliable brand? And are the newegg reviews spot on at all?
m
l
Related resources
December 13, 2012 8:02:10 AM

Yeah motherboards come with heatsinks, but anything you add to it you will need your own form of cooling(CPU, RAM, GPU). All video cards come with their own designs so you won't have to worry about that. RAM temperatures you don't really have to worry about either. So basically the only thing you need a heatsink for is the CPU, and almost all CPU's come with a heatsink so you should be fine.