Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Can you upgrade your ram by buying the exact model again?

Last response: in Memory
December 13, 2012 6:16:42 AM

Hi people, I just bought a corsair vengeance 8gb ram, but I would like to up grade to 16GB. Should I just buy the exact pack I bought again and put the ram in the two extra slots? Here is my ram: http://www.amazon.com/Corsair-Vengeance-PC3-12800-1600m...
a b } Memory
December 13, 2012 7:06:35 AM

Hi, Yes you can. Usually it's advisable to use a single kit, but it will work with 2 similar kits also. Sometimes clearing the CMOS is necessary when upgrading the memory.
m
l
December 13, 2012 4:12:39 PM

I am kind of new to computers, so can anyone explain what a CMOs is?
m
l
Related resources
December 13, 2012 4:45:35 PM

Ok thanks, and do I need to do this before or after I upgrade my RAM?
m
l
December 13, 2012 4:50:13 PM

I don't think it matters if you add the memory then remove the battery or remove the battery then the memory, either way the CMOS is being cleared
m
l
December 13, 2012 4:54:15 PM

If you have free memory slots and bought/buy the same type as the other memory modules yes, as this motherboard has 4 slots for memory
m
l
December 13, 2012 4:58:29 PM

Just for the sake of knowing, can you tell me what clearing cmos does. I have had the computer for only a couple months if that makes a difference.
m
l

Best solution

December 13, 2012 5:05:14 PM