Multiple Monitor Set Up ?

5kywalk9

Distinguished
Sep 9, 2011
Okay, so I am a total newbie in this area, but I'm looking into connecting one or two extra monitors to my laptop (undecided how many at this point), simply so I can extend my screen space for when I work with recording software.

I've done a bit of reading, and I've found that additional monitors can be connected via VGA or HDMI, if I am correct. What I would like to know is, would this be possible to do with my laptop?

Full specs of my laptop here: http://newz-flash.blogspot.com/2011/04/sony-vaio-vpceb45fg-price-spec-photo.html

Would the ATI Mobility Radeon™ HD 5470 Graphics in my laptop work with this? Or would I need to add something via the ExpressCard slot?

If I chose to use two extra monitors (if it is possible), would I have to purchase something like a USB to VGA adapter like this one: http://www.elive.co.nz/digitus-usb-vga-adapter-dv3288.php ?

Or would I be able to connect one monitor via VGA and one via HDMI ?

I'm sorry if these are really basic questions, but as I say, I am a newbie in this area. Thanks very much in advance. :)

Solution

She never said anything about games..

I assume you mean audio recording not video?

The 5470 graphics card is not that powerful to begin with so it might struggle with 3 monitors doing anything more than normal web browsing/word processing/playing a video on one of the screens.
Also because of your video card I think the additional 2 monitors would be you limit.

Also about the adapter, I can't really say because it depends on how the ports are wired internally. You could always just try it without the adapter first then buy it later if it...

5kywalk9

Distinguished
Sep 9, 2011

What about running them at 1366 x 768 or another resolution?

5kywalk9

Distinguished
Sep 9, 2011

Ignoring the specs of my laptop now, as this is just for my own knowledge, but is it possible to run a monitor via VGA and another via HDMI simultaneously ?

5kywalk9