Sign in with
Your question

HELP! new pc, crashing with lines or black screen while sound working!

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
September 12, 2011 2:32:33 PM

I assembled a desktop 3 days ago. The config is:

motherboard: ASUS|M5A97 970 AM3+ SB950 R
CPU: AMD|PHENOM II X6 1075T 3.0G AM3 RT
Graphics Card: XFX|HD-679X-ZRFC HD6790 1G R
(note. this is not the dual fan Radeon 6790 from XFX, instead it has a single fan and only one 6 pin pci-e power port unlike other 6790's!.. here is the link to it..http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E1681...)
RAM: Patriot Viper II Sector 7 3x2GB 2000Mhz PC3-16000
PSU(came with chassis): COMPUCASE - Orion Xpower585 585W
HDD: Seagate 1.5TB 5900rpm sata

I started playing warcrat III dota as soon as I got it running. It worked fine in the beginning. After a while when I am loading a game it started giving black screen and won't take any keyboard gesture. But the sound would keep playing! And i would have to reset. Now it does this more frequently and even when i am not playing at all. Sometime its a black screen and sometimes its shaded red lines or grey lines or just yellow. And sometimes the sound after a bit

I installed hwmonitor, GPU-Z, CPU-Z, all the temperetures are below 50 degree all time, although i have to check the cpu temperature again. My RAM is only running at 1066Mhz. I have the updated driver for the graphics, I'll try reinstalling the drivers today. Please help!! Nothing seems to work so far, I tried changing RAM timing, and then brought it back to auto. I also took out the graphics card and installed it back again! Took out the power chord from my optical drive in an attempt to reduce load on PSU (if its an issue). :$.. HELP!!
September 12, 2011 3:59:37 PM

I would start with the PSU. Sorry to say, but that one probably isn't putting out any where it is rated. Swapping with a known good PSU would help isolate the problem.
m
l
September 12, 2011 5:49:15 PM

COLGeek said: