New Build / Aussie Needs some advice

TimmyMcPherson

Distinguished
Nov 10, 2011
Hey guys,

Been rummaging around Tom's Hardware for a while, love the System Build Marathons!

I have decided to build a new desktop! Essentially 2 years ago, my desktop storage drives developed a serious logic error. In the time it took my to source the problem, acquire a quote, and decide $1.8k is too much to drop on the recovery of personal photos right now, my system became essentially obsolete. For the subsequent 24 months I resorted to using my mediocre Sony VAIO laptop, running everything on the lowest settings (also the adapter gets so hot the plastic starts to melt slightly -but that is a whole 'nother story).

I am relatively new to the tech scene, and am still trying hard to teach myself about computer components and their relative role within a functioning system.
As previously mentioned, I thoroughly enjoy the SBM's here and based my current build closely on the Q3 $2000 performance build by Tom's Hardware.

I was hoping for some comments regarding bottlenecks, compatibility, cooling, better cost-benefit components, or just general advice regarding the build. Advice from Australian's regarding the pricing and best source of purchase would also be greatly appreciated!

In any case, the build is as follows:

Intel Core i7-2600k 3.4Ghz 1155pin Boxed CPU $334

ASUS MAXIMUSIV-GENE-Z Z68 DDR3 1155pin Motherboard $241

2x Inno3D 1536M GTX580 PCI-E VGA Card $1032

G.Skill Ripjaws-X 8G Kit(4Gx2) DDR3 1866 F3-14900CL9D-8GBXL $ 72

Kingston SH100S3/120G HyperX 120GB Sanforce SATA3 SSD HDD $254

Seagate 3.5" SV35 1TB ST31000526SV SATA3 Surveillance HDD $169

LG Blu-Ray Combo $ 61

AeroCool Black Hawk Top Docking Front Hotswap USB3.0 Tower Case $113

Antec HCG-900 High Current Gamer Gaming PSU $156

Antec Kuhler H20 620 Water Cooling CPU Cooler $ 84

Viewsonic VX2453MH-LED 24-Inch Ultra-thin Widescreen LED Monitor $199

Viewsonic VP920b (currently owned - secondary screen)

TOTAL $2635