$800 Digital Audio workstation

Hey everyone,

This is my first build and just wanted to get some advice. I'll be using it primarily as a digital audio workstation. I don't plan on overclocking right away but may at some point. Stability is more important to me. I'll also be using the integrated graphics on the 2600k to start. If I need a video card at some point I can always add it later. I'll be using just one monitor. I also already have a 1 TB WD Caviar black. The new drive will be the system drive. I already have a sound card/audio interface.

I've been researching components for a couple months and this is what I've come up with. Let me know what you think.

CPU: Intel Core i7 2600k $319.99

MB: GIGABYTE GA-Z68A-D3H-B3 LGA 1155 Intel Z68 $129.99

PSU: Rosewill Green Series RG630-S12 630W $59.99

RAM: G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) $64.99

HD: Seagate Barracuda ST31000524AS 1TB 7200 RPM SATA 6.0Gb/s $149.99

CD/DVD: SAMSUNG CD/DVD Burner Black SATA Model SH-222AB $18.99

Case: Thermaltake V3 Black Edition VL80001W2Z Black SECC / Plastic ATX Mid Tower Computer Case $49.99
11 answers Last reply
More about digital audio workstation
  1. looks a pretty good build for a DAW. if you can add an SSD, that would also help you for faster read/write speeds.
  2. With the shortage of HDDs, and prospective supply problems for the next 6 months, you are well advised to snap up a HDD ASAP, or make due with what you have until the 2nd Q or 3rd Q 2012.

Prices are up from September by, at the very least, 50%, and there may be a worldwide shortage of 40-50 million units in Q1 2012.
  3. Thanks. Yeah i thought about an SSD. I think they're a little expensive to fit into my budget at the moment but maybe someday down the line. A 30 gb to run the OS is temping though.

That's interesting about the HDD shortage. I hadnt heard about that. I thought they seemed more expensive than when i last bought one.
  4. kut24x said: