High end htpc

NoLegalMoves

Distinguished
Nov 11, 2011
I am a newbie to htpc configuration and I would like some advice on choosing the right components. I am looking into getting an htpc for my home theater. The home theater room is currently dedicated to movies watching through a projector and I have a set of high end speakers (nautilus B&W) in a 7.1 configuration with Marantz/ Anthem - preamp / amp set up.

I would like to add a htpc to the room for the following use
-Movie watching (the system should be 3D ready and be able to store a movie collection and play back 1080p. I also need it to have 7.1 sound output with the latest dts, dolby..etc)
-cable watching / recording / archiving programs
-gaming (system should be able to handle the latest games, bf3...etc)
-Music listening, audiophile quality (store all the music in my house)

I realize that this is kind of a no compromise system and I am not sure if it is possible to even put together.
I am concerned about fan noise as I already have another old gaming pc that s quite loud.
I am not sure what components I need to get both outstanding sound quality and video quality.
Is it possible to use the preamp to do all the video and sound processing?
Budget is about $3000 - $4000

g-unit1111

Titan
OK this might be the first build where I have to use multiple vendors to come up with something. :lol:

In any event you'll want to use an HTPC case, ATX power supply, and micro ATX motherboard. I'll also recommend using 2.5" hard drives as opposed to 3.5" - with most HTPC cases the setup is quite a bit cramped, so to speak. The 2.5" hard drives are a smaller form factor and are meant for less power consumption, that sort of thing.

I'll also recommend picking up the Logitech DiNovo Mini - I have one and it is AMAZING in an HTPC configuration - for the keyboard it's pretty similar to typing on a cell phone keyboard and you use the thumbpad as the tracking device.