How to recognize a brand new or a refurbished MB

madawcisrich

Honorable
Dec 16, 2012
Hello everyone,

I am a new PC builder and I bought the Asus Maximus V gene as Motherboard.

But something keeps bothering me: each time I unboxed, when I took out the Motherboard to inspect its quality, I always notice something embarassing. Either there is trace of scratch on the Sound Card(I am sure it is not finger print), either some component are crooked. I also noticed that the plastic board which covesr the socket for CPU is always detached from the metalic cover on the MB. Shouldn't it be fixed on the metalic cover? I really think they are already used by someone and are not factory brand new.

Here are some photos for you guys

img0228lm.jpg

img0230cp.jpg

This is already my third replacement from Amazone and CDiscount. Can someone tell me if it is normal or it was really something refurbished. (by the way, I test all three and they all work, but I just don't feel that they are brand new one). Thank you in advance.

Azn Cracker

Distinguished
I mean does the mobo work? Thats all that really matters since you get the full warranty on it anyways.

And if its refurbished, its usually has a different box and it says refurbished on it.

Maybe the stuff got knocked loose during shipping