realdrx

Distinguished
Jul 14, 2010
Me and my dad have had are up and downs but for the most part its been good. His B day is coming up and I have been planing to build him a pc for a couple of months as a b day gift. Well last night funny enough, when I went over to visit him he expressed the want for a Htpc. So here is what came up with:

Case:
SilverStone GD04B

GPU:
ASUS gtx 460
(I know its over the top for a normal htpc but he expressed the want to go 3d sometime)

Cpu: AMD Phenom II X2 560
Mobo: ASUS M4A88T-M AM3
RAM: G.SKILL NS 4GB (2 x 2GB)
HDD: Seagate Barracuda ST31000524AS 1TB
bundle
(Was going to go with difrent RAM and HDD but saw this bundle.)

PSU:
CORSAIR Builder Series CX500 V2 500W

OR

OCZ ModXStream Pro 500W
(Was thinking about this one solely because its Modular and the less wires in this tiny case the better)

Wireless card:
Linksys WMP600N

Replacement fans:
Yate Loon 120mm x 20mm Slim Fan - Low Speed
(Reviews said the stock fans are loud. The mobo doesn't have any fan headers and I dont trust my day with a fan controller)

Keyboard:
Logitech Wireless Touch Keyboard K400

Grand total of about $800. But I haven't shopped around for best prices yet. Please give it a look over to make sure I didn't miss anything and feel free to make suggestions.

Solution
If we ignore "(I know its over the top for a normal htpc but he expressed the want to go 3d sometime" then the AMD fusion HTPC is the right answer, especially if you are using AMD CPU anyway. Should 3D become an issue in a year or two then that might be the time to add then then-current 3D card. The 460 is a nice card, but adds a lot of power/cooling requirements to an HTPC build.

re: Seagate Barracuda ST31000524AS 1TB. It's a really bad time to be buying HDDs, but if he plans to record HD or a bunch of movies than you'll want a 2TB or larger drive.